Society for the Anthropology of Work


SAW Award Recipients

Conrad Arensberg Award

Conrad Arensberg (1991), June Nash (1992), Karen Brodkin (1993), Louise Lamphere (1994), Frederick Gamst (1995), Karen Tranberg Hansen (1998), Eliot Chapple (2000), Herb Appelbaum (2001), Judith-Maria Buechler and Hans Buechler (2002), Susan George (2004), Arlie Hochschild (2006), Marietta Baba (2008), Beverly Wright (2010); Frances Rothstein (2012); United Workers (2014); Gerald M. Sider (2016); Stephen R. Barley (2018)


Diana Forsythe Prize

2017: Sareeta Amrute for Encoding Race, Encoding Class: Indian IT Workers in Berlin (Duke University Press, 2016) Honorable Mention: Emilia Sanabria, Plastic Bodies: Sex Hormones and Menstrual Suppression in Brazil (Duke University Press, 2016)

2016: Eben Kirksey for Emergent Ecologies (Duke University Press, 2015) Honorable mention: Everett Yuehong Zhang for The Impotence Epidemic: Men’s Medicine and Sexual Desire in Contemporary China (Duke University Press, 2015)

2015: Gabriella Coleman for Hacker, Hoaxer, Whistleblower, Spy: The Many Faces of Anonymous (Verso, 2014)

2014: S. Lochlann Jain for Malignant: How Cancer Becomes Us (University of California Press, 2013)
Honorable Mention: Adriana Petryna for When Experiments Travel: Clinical Trials and the Global Search for Human Subjects (Princeton University Press, 2009)

2013: Heather Paxson, for The Life of Cheese: Crafting Food and Value in America (University of California Press, 2012)

2012: Rene Almeling for Sex Cells: The Medical Market for Eggs and Sperm (University of California Press, 2011)

2011: Alexander Edmonds, for Pretty Modern: Beauty, Sex and Plastic Surgery in Brazil (Duke University Press, 2011)

2010: Elly Teman, for Birthing a Mother: the Surrogate Body and the Pregnant Self (University of California Press, 2010)

2009: Emily Martin, for Bipolar Expeditions: Mania and Depression in American Culture (Princeton University Press, 2007)

2008: João Biehl, for Will to Live: AIDS Therapies and the Politics of Survival (Princeton University Press, 2007)

2007: Marcia Inhorn, for Local Babies, Global Science: Gender, Religion and In Vitro Fertilization in Egypt (Routledge, 2003)

2006: Jan English-Lueck, for [email protected] (Stanford University Press, 2002)

2005: Joe Dumit, for Picturing Personhood: Brain Scans and Biomedical Identity (Princeton University Press, 2004)

2003: Cori Hayden, for When Nature Goes Public: The Making and Unmaking of Bioprospecting in Mexico (Princeton University Press, 2003)

2002: Lucy Suchman, for the body of her work

2001: Stefan Helmreich, for Silicon Second Nature: Culturing Artificial Life in a Digital World (University of California Press, 1998)

2000: David Hess, for the body of his work

1999: Rayna Rapp, for Testing Women, Testing the Fetus: The Impact of Amniocentesis in America (Routledge, 1999).


Eric R. Wolf Prize

2017: Marcel LaFlamme for “Profession as Timekeeping Device”

2016: Mary Elizabeth Schmid for “Tomatero Circuit of Southern Appalachia-South Florida”

2015: Mary Wilhoit for “EnGendering the State: Women’s Work and Peru’s 2012 Agrarian Census”

2014: Bryan Moorefield for “Exceptional Protections: Contracts, Temporality, and Mexican Guestworkers”

2013: Samuel Weeks for “Longing for ‘Normal’ Post-Fordism: Cape Verdean Labor-Power on a Lisbon Periphery in Crisis”

2012: Rachel Proby Wright for “Who’s the Boss? The Matryoshka Power and Governance in Nonprofit Organizations”

2011: June Hee Kwon for “Rhythm of Circulation: Visas, Labor, and the Bodies of Korean Chinese Migrants in the Age of Transnational Commuting,” co-winner

2011: Jeffrey Hoelle for “The Ranchers of Acre, Brazil: Elite Status and Work in an Environmental State,” co-winner

2006: Troy Wilson for “Migrant Brokers of the Global Tongue: A Case Study in Guadalajara, Mexico”

2005: Laurie Duthie for “White Collars with Chinese Characteristics: Global Capitalism and the Formation of a Social Identity”

2004: Kelly Feltault for “‘We’re Our Own Boss’: Gendered Class-Consciousness and White Privilege among Hooper’s Island Crab Pickers”

2003: Ariana Hernandez-Reguant for “Artistic Labor and Contractual Citizenship in the Cuban Culture Industries”


Society for the Anthropology of Work Book Prize

2018: Penny McCall Howard for Environment, Labour, and Capitalism at Sea: “Working the Ground” in Scotland (Manchester University Press, 2017)

2017: Susana Narotzky and Victoria Goddard for Work and Livelihoods: History, Ethnography and Models in Times of Crisis (Routledge, 2017)

2016: Angela Steusse for Scratching Out a Living: Latinos, Race, and Work in the Deep South (University of California Press, 2016)

2015: Rebecca Prentice for Thiefing A Chance: Factory Work, Illicit Labor, and Neoliberal Subjectivities in Trinidad (University Press of Colorado, 2015)

2014: Karen Tranberg Hansen, Walter Little, and B. Lynne Milgram for Street Economies in the Urban Global South (School for Advanced Research Press, 2013)

2013: Seth Holmes for Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies: Migrant Farmworkers in the United States (University of California Press, 2013), co-winner

2013: Noelle Molé for Labor Disorders in Neoliberal Italy: Mobbing, Well-Being, and the Workplace (University of Indiana Press, 2011), co-winner

2012: Carrie Lane for A Company of One: Insecurity, Independence, and the New World of White-Collar Unemployment (Cornell University Press/ILR Press, 2011)

2011: Ann Kingsolver and Nandini Gunewardena for The Gender of Globalization: Women Navigating Cultural and Economic Marginalities (School for Advanced Research Press, 2008)

2010: Frances Rothstein for Globalization in Mexico: Three Decades of Change (University of Texas Press, 2007)