Society for the Anthropology of Work



SAW Awards and Prizes

The Conrad Arensberg Prize was established by the Society for the Anthropology of Work in 1991 to recognize outstanding contributions to the field.

The Diana Forsythe Prize was created in 1998 to celebrate the best book or series of published articles in the spirit of Diana Forsythe’s feminist anthropological research on work, science, and/or technology, including biomedicine. The Prize is awarded annually at the meeting of the American Anthropological Association by a committee consisting of one representative from SAW and two from the Committee on the Anthropology of Science, Technology, and Computing (CASTAC). It is supported by the General Anthropology Division (GAD) and Bern Shen.

Self-nominations are welcomed. To be eligible, books must have been published in the last five years (copyright of 2014 or later). Nominations should be sent via email to Selection Committee Chair Marcel LaFlamme at [email protected]; the submission deadline is June 1, 2019. Publishers, please send a copy of nominated titles to each of the selection committee members listed below:

Marcel LaFlamme
Open Innovation in Science Center
Ludwig Boltzmann Gesellschaft
Nußdorfer Straße 64, 2nd floor
1090 Vienna, Austria

Eben Kirksey
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation
Deakin University
Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus
Locked Bag 20000
Geelong, VIC 3220

Sareeta Amrute
Director of Research
Data & Society Research Institute
36 West 20th Street, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10011

The Eric R. Wolf Prize was established to honor graduate student research on the topic of the anthropology of work, broadly defined. The award will go to the paper that best demonstrates an anthropological approach to the study of work in the tradition of political economic scholarship modeled and encouraged by Eric Wolf.  The Society for the Anthropology of Work invites graduate students to submit previously unpublished manuscripts for consideration. The recipient of the Eric Wolf Prize will receive a $250 cash award along with the possibility of having his or her essay reviewed for possible publication in the Anthropology of Work Review.

Submissions need to be received by October 1, 2019 to be considered for this year’s prize.  All submissions should be emailed as attached Word documents to Jan English-Lueck ([email protected]),chair of the Wolf Prize Committee. Graduate students need not be members of the Society for the Anthropology of Work to submit essays in the competition, but SAW student memberships are available at an affordable cost with membership in the AAA. Word documents should be 25 pages or less, double-spaced, and all identifying information needs to be in the accompanying email (identifying headers and footers need to be removed before sending the document). Please direct any questions about the SAW Eric Wolf Prize to Jan English-Lueck at [email protected]

The June Nash Travel Award is available to students who present papers on SAW reviewed panels at the AAA. If you are a student and are presenting a paper on an SAW panel at the AAAs, please contact Jan English-Lueck ([email protected]) for further information.

The Society for the Anthropology of Work Book Prize is awarded to single or co-authored monographs or edited collections published within the past three years. The criteria are the significance of the research, relevance for the anthropology of work, clarity and effectiveness of the presentation, and appeal to a wider audience in anthropology and beyond. Preference will be given to books based on fieldwork and which have not received another award or prize. We invite nominations from scholars in all four subfields, book editors, and publishers, including self-nominations. The prize will be awarded at the business meeting of the Society for the Anthropology of Work at the annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association.

The submission deadline is May 31, 2019. Please send an email to co-chairs Jim Weil at [email protected] and Eve Hochwald at [email protected], describing the book’s contribution to the field, accompanied by reviews, if available. You then will be asked to send copies of the book to the committee members.

The Society for the Anthropology of Work Film Award recognizes the valuable contributions anthropologists are making in the area of ethnographic film. Contact Charles Menzies ([email protected]) for more information.